Hugheen Ferguson Distinguished Teacher Award Prix Hugheen-Ferguson du professeur distingué



The CFMTA is pleased to offer the Hugheen Ferguson Distinguished Teacher Awards as a method of honouring deserving members of Registered Music Teachers' Associations across Canada. These awards were created in memory of the late Hugheen Ferguson, whose estate gifted the CFMTA with \$5000.00. Hugheen, CFMTA president from 1997 - 1999, was an extraordinary teacher, administrator and supporter of the Association and the arts throughout her lifetime.

Individuals who have made significant contributions to the art of music and the profession of music teaching will be recognized through the CFMTA Hugheen Ferguson Distinguished Teacher Award for distinguished teaching and/or distinguished service.

La FCAPM est heureuse d'offrir des prix Hugheen-Ferguson du professeur distingué afin d'honorer les membres méritants des associations de professeurs de musique du Canada. Ces prix ont été instaurés à la mémoire de la regrettée Hugheen Ferguson dont la succession a donné 5 000 \$ à la FCAPM. Tout au long de sa vie, Hugheen, qui a été présidente de la FCAPM de 1997 à 1999, a été une professeure et une administratrice extraordinaire, de même qu'une fervente de notre association et des arts.

Les personnes qui ont fait des contributions importantes à l'art musical et à la profession de l'enseignement de la musique seront reconnues grâce au Prix Hugheen Ferguson du professeur distingué de la FCAPM pour leur excellence dans l'enseignement (distinguished teaching) ou le service (distinguished service).

Recipients for 2021

Cindy Taylor (BC)

Hailing from Ocean Falls, BC, Cindy has spent her life in Campbell River. She joined the BCRMTA on November 1, 1978 and has been teaching since that time. Her service to the RMTA has included various executive positions and in 2005 Cindy was elected as Second Vice President of the BCRMTA. Her term as Past President of that organization ended in April 2021. In 2013 Cindy was elected to the position of President of the CFMTA.

Cindy's community service has been constant and wide ranging and she has become a well known advocate of Canadian Music.



Award presented by Joanne Lougheed (R- Past President BCRMTA) to Cindy Taylor (L)

Tiffany A. Wilson (MB)

Tiffany Wilson is a well known and respected music teacher in Winnipeg, MB. In 2015 she joined the executive of the CFMTA as Vice President and her tenure as President ended in 2019. It was in that year that she headed the committee that hosted the 2019 CFMTA Conference.

Tiffany students benefit from her generous nature and warm personality. She is known for going the extra mile, not only in her teaching, but in all things in which she is involved. She sings a mean aria, is a wonderful host and a dear supportive friend.



Award presented by Leanne Hiebert (L - Past President MRMTA) and Evangeline Keeley (R - President MRMTA) to Tiffany Wilson (M)

