CFMTA 2016 National Essay Competition

The National CFMTA Essay Competition invites submissions of essays on any topic related to music teaching, pedagogy or performance practice. This competition is open to all Canadian residents currently attending high school, or studying at the university undergraduate and graduate levels. There is no fee to enter.

The Lorna Wanzel Prizes are awarded to the first and second place recipients in each category. Thank you to Dale Wheeler and Christopher Hahn, for serving on the adjudication panel this year. The next Essay Competition deadline is May 1, 2017.

CFMTA is pleased to congratulate the winners of the 2016 National Essay Competition:  


High School Level

1st place ($500)  Zelyn Lee, BC  

Tennis and the Piano: Integrating Sports into Music

2nd place ($250)  Evelyn Verhoef, AB

Music Therapy and the Autistic Child

University Undergraduate Level

1st place ($1,000)  Chris Taeyoung Kin, University of Toronto

Bridging the Gap Between Classically Trained University Music Educators and Classroom Pedagogy

2nd place ($500)  Louisa Lu, University of Alberta

Music therapy as an alternative and more desired treatment for Alzheimer’s disease

University Graduate Level

1st place ($1,000)  Gretchen Schwarz, McGill University

Authentic Transmission: Ghanaian Music Pedagogy for Westerners

2nd place ($500)  Hilary McLaughlin, University of Toronto

Finding Musical Expression Through Photography and Film