This award has been established to honour teachers who have been recognized for their contributions to the profession.  As a tribute to these teachers, the Pedagogy Award is being offered to a deserving candidate who has recently qualified in this field.  It was initiated upon the passing of Robert Pounder, the first honorary President of CFMTA from 1975 to 1996.


The CFMTA shall be responsible for this award of $500.00 to be presented in even-numbered years to the applicant receiving the highest mark in a Diploma Level Pedagogy Exam from a national based teaching institution which offers exams in every province/territory. Eligible students must be studying pedagogy with an individual member of CFMTA.


Along with an official transcript of the Pedagogy Examination mark, the applicant will be required to submit a summary of musical training and interim teaching, which will be considered in the case of a tie.  The Memorial Pedagogy Award will be presented biannually during an even numbered year and will be governed by the Awards and Competitions Chairperson.  The closing date for applications to be received by the Chairperson will be June 1, 2022.  Anyone who has completed the requirements during January 2020 to January 2022 will be eligible to apply.

The Memorial Pedagogy Award is presented biennially in the non-conference year and is governed by the Awards & Competitions Chair. The closing date for the applications to be received June 1 of the even-numbered years. Applicants must have completed the requirements within the two years prior of the closing date to be eligible.


Please direct submissions and questions to:
Lynn Ewing
Awards & Competitions Chair


Deadline June 1, 2022

Past Winners:

  • For past winners - check out our Archive site